Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Opinion

Our View (31-3-2105): Council spending and the scary idea of debt

Tuesday, 31 March 2015 14:48

I SPENT the past four years covering the District Council of the Copper Coast, including the previous council’s entire term.

Entertain us: New tunes bringing the goods

Wednesday, 25 March 2015 10:31

 

MUSIC lovers haven been bombarded with new offerings recently, so our journos have discussed which albums and songs have their attention.

Nick Perry: I am just through my first spin of the new Modest Mouse record, Strangers To Ourselves, which I have been waiting eight years for. It's too early to tell if I like it. Ditto for the new Kendrick Lamar album, To Pimp a Butterfly, the most hyped rap album in years. Before these records dropped, I had been jamming my album of the year so far I Love You, Honeybear by Father John Misty, plus Afraid of Ghosts by Butch Walker. You have probably not heard of Butch but he helps write and record for Taylor Swift, Pink and a bunch of other megastars; check him out.

Rhiannon Koch: Most anticipated contenders: British India, San Cisco, The Wombats, Mumford and Sons, Of Monsters and Men and Circa Waves. Currently loving: Australia's Courtney Barnett and her debut album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit. The guitar, the lyrics, everything. Tied for top-spot is Tobias Jesso Jr. I saw him perform on a late night TV show and his crooning skills had me seeking out every available song I could hear. So many albums to wait for but the thing I am most looking forward to is Lip Sync Battle on US TV in April. Google it. You'll thank me.

Sonny Coombs: Mainstream music listeners wake up -- this is your section! I'm the outcast, the only journo in the office who doesn't listen to Triple J which, ironically, makes me the individual. I have been listening to Madonna's new album, Rebel Heart. Madonna can do no wrong and knows what her audience wants. She is the queen of reinventing herself and the album has a slightly techno feel which at times is too synthetic. However, I still love it and can see her track Iconic, featuring Chance the Rapper and former boxer Mike Tyson, becoming the next single.

Do you agree with our journos' opinions? Share your views by tweeting us @YPTimes or via our Facebook page.

Our View (17-3-2105): Summer sport heating up

Tuesday, 17 March 2015 14:16

SUMMER sport is coming to an end and has provided plenty of talking points.

Entertain us: Freaks at the Fringe

Wednesday, 11 March 2015 15:33

 

A COMEDY show turned into a night spent with unbelievable freaks for our journo, Sonny Coombs.

What a marvellous time to be a South Australian.

Adelaide is absolutely electric during February/March with the Adelaide Fringe Festival, Clipsal, WOMADelaide, Adelaide Writer's Week and much more.

This year a friend and I bought tickets to see comedian Cal Wilson's show Undercurrents in the Garden of Unearthly Delights.

The former Channel 7 Slideshow regular gave us a look into her kooky world, joking about everything from her family life, localised Adelaide digs and a few eyebrow-raising jokes with political undercurrents.

Cal is clearly a seasoned professional and was well-equipped to handle one drunk straight-from-Clipsal heckler.

We then ventured out into the Garden which has a great atmosphere and I felt welcomed despite not being a trendy, Triple J-listening hipster.

After a stroll we decided to venture into the Sideshow Wonderland freak show which was so wrong but so memorable.

You could just walk up, buy a ticket for $10 and enter the next show, each of which went for about 20 minutes.

We were greeted by the Guinness World Record-holding Space Cowboy, who promptly shoved a sword down his throat.

He returned later in the show with a pile of weights attached to cables with fish hooks on the end.

He opened up his vest to reveal nipple rings, from which you think would be painful enough to lift weights.

However, it got worse -- actually, better in a weird way -- when pulled his eyelids back and inserted the fishhooks in his eye sockets!

After lifting the weights off the floor using his eye sockets the crowd erupted with applause. He proceeded to swing the weights from side to side as if it were normal.

Other memorable performances included hammering a nail into one's nose cartilage and a burlesque dance with massive snakes.

The best way I can describe the show is like an eclipse of the sun -- you know you shouldn't look but you just can't help yourself.

The Adelaide Fringe Festival is on until March 15.

Our View (11-3-2015): Hey, thanks

Wednesday, 11 March 2015 13:32

WE have been overwhelmed with the response to last week’s 150-year souvenir edition and thank everyone for their support.

Entertain us: I watched Gogglebox

Tuesday, 03 March 2015 15:05

I WATCHED episode three of Gogglebox on Thursday night, because I had no idea other episodes had already aired. My life was better then.

Gogglebox is a Channel 10 program which shows various people watching Australian television and captures their reactions. It's not as bad as it sounds. It is so much worse.

Here is why:

  • Predictably, the entire show is an advert for Channel 10. When the participants watch Channel 10 programs they absolutely love them. When a Channel 10 program starts one person must say "I love this show".
  • The viewers watch shows from opposition channels and absolutely hate them.
  • Apparently everybody watches television in the exact same position every day.
  • Everybody is way too conscious of being filmed. They even talk slowly and exaggerate their laughs, like they had a briefing on how to behave from the producers 10 seconds before filming.
  • It's not (all) scripted at least. Case in point, one mother of teenagers, whilst watching a news segment about the hepatitis A berry scare: "We have berries in the fridge too. Kids, don’t eat them until I throw them in the bin." Mmmm, bin berries.
  • The program is diverse. It features stereotypical young men, young women, a Sri Lankan family, the working class couple, the gay couple, , the middle-aged friends, the alternatives, the old people and the regular Aussie family (times two!). Unfortunately it is for naught. All have the same damn opinion about almost every show.
  • Untrendy people may be allowed to find a show from a competing network okay. Case in point, the old lady thought Downton Abbey, on Channel 7, was okay. In case you didn't understand only old people should like Downton Abbey, the very next scene was a younger woman saying, "I think you have to be over 85 to like this show". Subtle.
  • All participants were slightly okay with the ABC. But of course they watched an expose about animal cruelty, just to make sure no Gogglebox watchers would be tempted to flick over to ABC.
  • Above all else, it is astoundingly unrealistic. Every person was glued to the screen. Not one sat there playing with their phone. In the real world, at least eight out of 10 people under 30 would be texting, on Facebook, playing a game or looking up much more entertaining videos on Youtube.

Our View (3-3-2105): Celebrating 150 years of history

Tuesday, 03 March 2015 13:44

THIS week is the culmination of our 150-year celebrations.