Thursday, 23 November 2017

Opinion

Our View (18-08-15): Hard work rewarded

Tuesday, 18 August 2015 13:41

YORKE Peninsula has a lot of tiny towns and settlements, and just as many little communities dedicated to making their patches the best they can be.

Entertain Us: Everybody watched the cats

Tuesday, 18 August 2015 13:40

Australia, I am disappointed. Disgusted, even.

Our View (11-08-15): Peeking behind the flag rescindment

Tuesday, 11 August 2015 14:07

COPPER Coast councillors have been careful to make it seem like rescinding their rainbow flag motion was not a backflip.

Entertain Us: You’ve got to be kitten

Tuesday, 11 August 2015 14:06

RESTAURANT Revolution was a flop with audiences, so Channel 7 replaced the program’s Tuesday timeslot with — if you can believe it — Youtube videos of cats. Journalist Nick Perry sat through as much of one episode as he could.

Our View (04-08-15): Rescinding the rainbow

Wednesday, 05 August 2015 07:31

IT seems likely the District Council of the Copper Coast’s decision to fly the rainbow flag will be rescinded tomorrow (Wednesday).

Our View (28-7-15): Being Good(es) sports

Tuesday, 28 July 2015 14:11

SPORTSMANSHIP amongst spectators has come under a bright spotlight as local competitions approach finals time.

Entertain Us: Actual celebrity apprentices coming

Tuesday, 28 July 2015 14:10

 

CELEBRITY Apprentice Australia has served its apprenticeship and is returning with an improved cast, to the delight of journalist Sonny Coombs.

Entertain us: Sanitised talent shows

Wednesday, 22 July 2015 11:51


JOURNALIST Sonny Coombs pines for a return to the days of television talent shows featuring awful performers, and judges who were not afraid to tell them.

So many things which annoy me about The Voice but for some reason I can't keep my eyes off the screen.

I vowed I wouldn't watch it this year after the departure of my favourite judge, Kylie Minogue.

I wish these talent shows would get back to basics rather than focussing on the back stories of contestants.

I don't want to hear your sob stories and could care less your dog died five years ago, so just sing already!

Thank goodness for Jessie J, who brings a new dimension to the show and isn't afraid to give her opinion to contestants and other judges.

What happened to judges like Dicko and Kyle Sandilands, who told contestants exactly what they were thinking and really put their foot in it on occasions?

Judges today are too nice and filtered, so it's refreshing to see Jessie J give the contestants honest advice and opinion.

On a recent episode, a contestant failed to turn the chairs of any of the judges; however, they all told him how good the performance was. Jessie J wasn't having it and said what everyone at home was thinking.

"You're voice was really interesting but none of us turned around so we can all sit here and go 'it was amazing, well done, great' but you're not through," she said.

When did talent shows become so sanitised? We are being ripped off Australia.

Remember the good old days of Australian Idol, where all of the singers were shown, whether they were actually good or were so bad they made you think Victoria Beckham could sing well.

The terrible auditions, and the judge's reactions, was the best part of the show and gave people something to talk about.

Imagine how sad our worlds would have been if Australian Idol didn't discover Flynn who became quite successful with his terrible rendition of Push Up.