Monday, 25 September 2017

Opinion

Entertain Us: Welcome to the age of Netflix

Tuesday, 28 April 2015 13:16

Global movie and TV show streaming giant Netflix has been operational in Australia for a month now and has already amassed a solid following.

Entertain Us: Welcoming back TV’s big guns

Tuesday, 21 April 2015 13:30

Forget about reality shows or re-runs of the Big Bang Theory.

Our View (21-4-15): Doing the Anzacs proud

Tuesday, 21 April 2015 13:28

CONGRATULATIONS to everyone involved in the Gallipoli Landings Centenary Commemorations on Saturday.

Our View (14-4-15): The ice age

Tuesday, 14 April 2015 14:29

CRYSTAL methamphetamine, or ice, is being treated like an epidemic in Australia.

Entertain Us: Interactive television #stop

Tuesday, 14 April 2015 14:28

PICTURE this... You settle down for a night of TV watching.

Our View (8-4-2105): Sharing the road safety message

Wednesday, 08 April 2015 13:59

THE Country Times caused quite a stir on Facebook by announcing speed limits on the highways into and out of Yorke Peninsula would be reduced for Easter.

Our View (31-3-2105): Council spending and the scary idea of debt

Tuesday, 31 March 2015 14:48

I SPENT the past four years covering the District Council of the Copper Coast, including the previous council’s entire term.

Entertain us: New tunes bringing the goods

Wednesday, 25 March 2015 10:31

 

MUSIC lovers haven been bombarded with new offerings recently, so our journos have discussed which albums and songs have their attention.

Nick Perry: I am just through my first spin of the new Modest Mouse record, Strangers To Ourselves, which I have been waiting eight years for. It's too early to tell if I like it. Ditto for the new Kendrick Lamar album, To Pimp a Butterfly, the most hyped rap album in years. Before these records dropped, I had been jamming my album of the year so far I Love You, Honeybear by Father John Misty, plus Afraid of Ghosts by Butch Walker. You have probably not heard of Butch but he helps write and record for Taylor Swift, Pink and a bunch of other megastars; check him out.

Rhiannon Koch: Most anticipated contenders: British India, San Cisco, The Wombats, Mumford and Sons, Of Monsters and Men and Circa Waves. Currently loving: Australia's Courtney Barnett and her debut album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit. The guitar, the lyrics, everything. Tied for top-spot is Tobias Jesso Jr. I saw him perform on a late night TV show and his crooning skills had me seeking out every available song I could hear. So many albums to wait for but the thing I am most looking forward to is Lip Sync Battle on US TV in April. Google it. You'll thank me.

Sonny Coombs: Mainstream music listeners wake up -- this is your section! I'm the outcast, the only journo in the office who doesn't listen to Triple J which, ironically, makes me the individual. I have been listening to Madonna's new album, Rebel Heart. Madonna can do no wrong and knows what her audience wants. She is the queen of reinventing herself and the album has a slightly techno feel which at times is too synthetic. However, I still love it and can see her track Iconic, featuring Chance the Rapper and former boxer Mike Tyson, becoming the next single.

Do you agree with our journos' opinions? Share your views by tweeting us @YPTimes or via our Facebook page.